Back to Shopping at NorthernBrewer.com

That homebrew taste

I am fairly new to brewing. I have made five or six batches now (all extract and all bottled), and for the most part I have been pleased with my results. However, I have noticed that with every batch, I get a certain “off” flavor that is the same each time. I’m not sure how to describe it, but I think of it as “the homebrew taste” because I have never tasted it in any commercial beer. The taste is somewhat bitter, and it overshadows the good flavors of the beer. I usually brew NB kits and follow the directions to the letter except for the fact that I usually go to the secondary after only a week because airlock bubbling ends before then. If anyone has any ideas about what may be causing this flavor or how to prevent it, I would really appreciate some advice.
Thanks!

Could be astringency… do you have a lot of chlorine in your water? At what temps are you pitching and fermenting?

Well, I have always used store-bought distilled water, so I don’t think chlorine should be an issue. I usually pitch at 75-80 degrees F and ferment at about 70F, give or take a couple of degrees.

You could be getting a bunch of esters (or worse phenols) by pitching at that temp. Try getting your beer in the upper 60’s before pitching and holding at that temp throughout fermentation.

If you don’t have a fermentation fridge, a simple and cheap solution is to get a plastic tub and make a swamp cooler. When it’s too warm to ferment in my basement I’ll fill a tub with ice and water and when the temp of the beer drops into the 60’s I’ll pitch my yeast. I keep half a dozen frozen water bottles in the freezer and swap them out a few times a day and even in the dead of summer I can keep the temp of the beer around 66-68. It’s all about thermal mass :slight_smile:

And for the record, short of moving to all grain, controlling my fermentation temps made the single biggest improvement in my beer.