Tasting it early

OK, so as I have said before I am brand new to this obsession. I bottled my first batch this past Saturday. This coming Saturday I am brewing my next batch and the person who gave me the kit as a Christmas present is coming over to do it with me. After one week, if we were to try it would it be disappointing? I can hold it up to a light and see that the beer is clear and I see a small layer of sediment on the bottom so I think all is going well. So what’s the opinion? Will my lack of patience be my undoing?

It’s hard to say for sure. It might be under carbed, it might be just right. It might need time to condition, it might not. The rule of thumb is to let it bottle condition for AT LEAST 2 weeks. what kind of beer? how long did you let it ferment?

If you don’t mind sacrificing a bottle, then go for it. But if it’s not great, don’t let that discourage you.

Will the beer be fully conditioned and ready to drink after just one week? No. Should that stop you from executing your plan? No. Go for it! I encourage you to take a sample every week until you feel it’s “ready.” That’s part of the early fun IMO. This hobby is as much about the experience as it is about the product.

Just know that the beer will be better in a month than it is now. It will probably be even better a month after that.

Do it! Don’t drink them ALL, but give yourself at least ONE, Ebenezer Scrooge! :cheers:

[quote=“kcbeersnob”]Will the beer be fully conditioned and ready to drink after just one week? No. Should that stop you from executing your plan? No. Go for it! I encourage you to take a sample every week until you feel it’s “ready.” That’s part of the early fun IMO. This hobby is as much about the experience as it is about the product.

Just know that the beer will be better in a month than it is now. It will probably be even better a month after that.[/quote]