Surprisingly low OG on an Imperial Stout extract kit

So I just brewed the Imperial Stout extract kit, which calls for an OG of 1.086. The fermentables are simply 2 6lb jugs of Dark LME and a small bag of steeping grains. Somehow though, my OG only hit 1.076. I’m having a hard time determining where the deficit could’ve happened. I’m fairly new to brewing (I think this was batch 10) and I know OG isn’t always going to be exact, but it’s always been close and 10 entire points seems extravagant. No wort was spilled, Oxygenated/mixed a solid 5 minutes before taking sample, and it was topped up to exactly 5 gallons. Any thoughts? Can the LME perhaps get old and lose potency somehow? I doubt that, but I can’t really think of any good explanations.
Also, I decided right after I pitched the yeast to try to bump it up a little and added a 5 oz package of dextrose (only thing I really had sitting around) straight into the carboy. How much of a gravity increase can I expect from that? Poor decision? Again, I’m pretty green yet so bear with my relative ignorance.

It’s possible you experienced stratification in the wort. So the reading you took may have not been as mixed or homogenized. This happens often when brewing extract and topping off with water.

5 oz of dextrose won’t have much of an effect at all. Just let it ride as is and I’m sure the beer will turn out just fine

Had it had a chance to sit and stratify for awhile I’d think that a possibility, but i’d shaken the bejesus out of it for a good 5 minutes right before taking the sample. It was about as mixed as anything could ever be.

If it was topped up to exactly 5 gals and you used all the extract then it is impossible to miss the OG. You would be surprised at how difficult it can be to get it to mix 100%.