Stir Plates and Starters

I’m new at home brewing. My third beer is currently in primary, and after every batch it becomes apparent that there is something else that I “need”. After reading a lot on here about the importance of yeast starters, it would seem that a flask and some spare DME would be my latest needs. Playing around on Mr. Malty it seems that a stir plate cuts the size of starter needed for all but the biggest of beers down to 1L.

My question is how stir plates affect the time required to make a starter. Will a stir plate allow me to make a starter Friday night and pitch Saturday afternoon? I’m trying to rationalize the added expense of a stir plate as long term cost and time savings. Is it worth it?

I don’t trust my starter being done in 1 day. I like to do it a week ahead. Stir plate for for 2 days and put it in the fridge.

You can build a stir plate for around $20 with parts from an old computer and Radio Shack.

http://makeprojects.com/Project/Homebre ... late/277/1 http://www.donosborn.com/homebrew/stir_plate.htm

Find a glass jar instead of a flask. Wine jug, apple juice, even a flower vase.

I like my flasks. But, agree that building a starter a few days ahead and giving yourself enough time to cold crash and decant prior to pitching is my preferred method. If your handy at all, building a stir plate can be a fun project.

Stir plate does speed it up and gives you higher cell numbers, but if you want to go with the classical homebrew “make a starter, let it finish, cold crash to precipitate most of the yeast, decant, pitch” scheme then yes, you’ll need to make a few days in advance. You can also spend time playing with your hands and build a stir plate, or you can just keep an eye on eBAY and get equipment from closing labs or surplus etc (got one plate for 13-15 and another for 20 something with a ton of stirring bars of various sizes).