Stir plate question

Is it true that you can get the same amount of yeast in a smaller size starter using a stir plate?
Like a quart on a stir plate would equal 3 or 4 quarts not on a stir plate.

I’ve heard just what you said, in effect, a .5l starter on a stir plate will equal a 2l non stirred starter, but I’m a little doubtful. The pitch rate calculators I use generally show a 40-60% increase by using a stir plate versus not stirring at all, which is still a pretty meaningful increase. The other big advantage to a stir plate is the shorter time involved in producing a starter.

[quote=“Rookie L A”]Is it true that you can get the same amount of yeast in a smaller size starter using a stir plate?
Like a quart on a stir plate would equal 3 or 4 quarts not on a stir plate.[/quote]

In given amount of time, I think that would be true. But it seems like if you let the unstirred ferment out it would be equal. But I’m guessing…

I’m no expert either, but I gather when oxygen is plentiful yeasties focus more on reproduction. So I guess oxygen does for them what alcohol does for us… With less oxygen they convert sugar to alcohol.

So given that there is only so much sugar in the starter I’d believe the 40-60% increase over non-stirred, but not 3-4x. If you gave the non-stirred more time to ferment-out I’d bet you’d see more alcohol in the spent wort versus stirred. But again, just a shift in the balance, not night-and-day difference.

From personal experience with no numbers, I will say the same volume starters produced on my DIY stir plate have producer better big beers and been able to chew through my batches with much greater efficiency.

[quote=“Denny”][quote=“Rookie L A”]Is it true that you can get the same amount of yeast in a smaller size starter using a stir plate?
Like a quart on a stir plate would equal 3 or 4 quarts not on a stir plate.[/quote]