Starter with NB cream ale?

Should I do a starter with NB cream ale extract kit? I have everything to make it including a stir plate… Any thoughts? Wyeast 1056 yeast kit 1.040.

Thank you,
G

[quote=“Rpm90001”]Should I do a starter with NB cream ale extract kit? I have everything to make it including a stir plate… Any thoughts? Wyeast 1056 yeast kit 1.040.

Thank you,
G[/quote]

Depends on how fresh the yeast is. If it were much over two weeks old I’d do a starter.

Just brewed the NB cream ale last weekend with wy1056. Probably a few weeks old. I didn’t do a starter because of time restrictions. By the next morning it was chugging a way nicely & continued for 4 days. Slowed down now, but i think it will be good. Ferm temp @ 61. Aerated with pure 0xy. 8)

Thanks, I did the starter because I have never done one before… Will I need a normal airlock? Or go with a blow off tube. I have a 6 gal carboy.

Thanks

Geo

[quote=“Rpm90001”]Thanks, I did the starter because I have never done one before… Will I need a normal airlock? Or go with a blow off tube. I have a 6 gal carboy.

Thanks

Geo[/quote]

I use a blowoff for every batch. It can’t hurt and you’re ready just in case.

Thanks… Blowoff it is. Thank you.

Geo

[quote=“Denny”][quote=“Rpm90001”]Thanks, I did the starter because I have never done one before… Will I need a normal airlock? Or go with a blow off tube. I have a 6 gal carboy.

Thanks

Geo[/quote]

I use a blowoff for every batch. It can’t hurt and you’re ready just in case.[/quote]