Starter questions

I’m brewing an Irish Red extract kit in the next week or so. The OG is 1.066. I’ve never done a starter before. The recommended yeast is Wyeast 1450 Denny’s Fav 50. I just brewed an ale yesterday with that yeast.

I would like to harvest that yeast to reuse. I’ve watched alot of youtube videos and read up on that aspect of it, and I’m comfortable with it.

These are my questions:

Should I use one smack pack of the Wyeast plus the starter? Or can I just use 100% of the harvested yeast?

If I use just the harvested yeast, how do I know how much to pitch? I’m a little confused as to figuring out how many viable cells,etc are in the starter.

Is it possible to pitch too much yeast? I know under pitching can cause off flavors.

Is a stirrer necessary? Can I just shake or swirl the container a couple of times a day?

This might be just the start of my questions, thanks much, love this forum.

If it were me I would just use 1/2 of the slurry from your other brew and call it a day. No need to “wash” the yeast.

use mrmalty.com
as a rule of thumb though, you generally want your yeast cells to double in the new beer so if your first beer was say 1.033 (and the same volume) you might try pitching the whole yeast cake.

You don’t want to use the entire cake from a brew. That would be an over pitch.

This may help. I strain the hop debris when pouring into the fermentor. My harvested yeast is clean. I harvest 400 milliliters of yeast and estimate 2 billion cells per milliliter. The estimate may be very conservative. This volume is after a week, to compact, in the jar. My jar would contain 800 billion cells.

Adjust the defaults in Mrmalty to reflect the amount of non-yeast material in your harvested yeast.