Starter question - is it dead, Jim?

I’m not a noob to brewing but I am new to doing this starter thing. I figured I’d try it and see what the fuss was about!

Thursday at about noon I made a starter wort following the instructions in the FAQ, and when it was cool to 75 degrees I added about a 1/4 C of US-05 yeast cake that I had collected from a primary a week ago and kept in the fridge. I then put the jug (a gallon wine bottle with an airlock) in a 75-degree spot & covered it up. That thing was bubbling in less than an hour, and was going like gangbusters after 3 hours and formed a 2-3 inch krausen. I left it on the counter all night, and this morning it wasn’t bubbling at all (or barely bubbling). I did swish/shake the bottle a couple of times last night, and gave it a shake today, but still no more activity. The krausen has collapsed by 50% as well.

So, I planned to brew tomorrow afternoon. Should I still use this starter, or make a new one since I can probably guess pretty accurately as to when it will be ready. I guess I’m worried that my yeast has died of alcohol poisoning (and of course I didn’t take an OG of this wort so taking another reading wouldn’t be of much use). I still have about 3/4 C of that US-05 yeast cake on hand and had even thought about just pitching some of that in directly.

So what are your thoughts on this? Oh, FWIW, I’m using US-05 on purpose, and I figured that if I’m going to try something new, I may as well learn on a cheaper yeast in case I crash and burn. :roll:

All you’re seeing is that 1/4 cup of yeast is a TON. You don’t really need a starter with that amount of yeast, at least not for an average-gravity ale.

So roughly how much yeast should I add if I wanted to make a starter (for all the reasons they give for making a starter)? The instructions just say “add your yeast packet” without saying how much that would be.