Sour Ale Question

In the Brewing TV episode on Sour Ales, Dawson made a sour beer from a NB Caribou Slobber kit, which has 35 ibus. Would a beer with such relatively high bitterness develop sourness with age?

What other kits would be good as a sour beer?

That’s a pretty good question and I’m just getting into this sour beer business (my first is bubbling away in the primary) but I was also under the impression that bitterness is bad as well. Maybe it will work because it is the guts as he called them from a few previous batches meaning that there is so much funky stuff that is going into the secondary that it will overpower any hop flavor.

Based on that episode, I tried the same thing with a split batch of honey brown. I actually just bottled it on Monday. I’m very concerned with how it turned out. I pitched it directly onto the “guts” of my previous Kreik. After 4 days, there were no signs of fermentation so I gambled and added a packet of US-05. By the next day there was a kraussen forming. At 1 month it was fairly sour but had a “bite” to it. At 3 months, much more sour, same “bite” and had some cherry notes. I needed the carboy so now at 6 months I had to make the decision to dump or bottle. I chose to bottle without tasting. I’ll open the first one in another 4 months and make my decision.

^How old were the Kriek guts out of curiosity? And what do you mean by bite?

Hop bitterness goes down with age, so by the time your sour gets ready (9mths or more) the bitterness will hopefully be lower and the sour will be out front. I don’t think sour and bitter are complementary either. You could always brew the Slobber kit with half the bittering addition.