Smaller beer after Barleywine

Hi all,

I completed my first AG batch last Sunday. I’ve got ingregients for a barleywine on the way and am thinking I will do a smaller beer after getting the first batch into the brewpot.

Since I am really new to brewing, i’m not really sure what to do in planning the smaller beer. Is there any rules of thumb to this or is it a free for all?

The grain for the barleywine is about 15lbs 2 row, 1 lb each caramunich and caravienne. Is there a smaller beer that is in line with those grains I could shoot for?

All i have on hand is some extra hops. A bit of cascade, some hallertau and I think some fuggles.

Any suggestions would be appreciated! Thanks!

I made an amber ale a couple of weeks ago and had about 1.5 gallons of final runnings that were about 1.030. I had sort of planned for this. Once I found the quantity of wort and gravity, I ran to my computer and started playing with BeerSmith to come up with a quick 1.75 gallon recipe that I could ferment in a 2 gallon bucket. On a whim I decided on an amber !PA and just threw a recipe together. Then I remembered that I had about 1.5 quarts of brown ale wort that I was saving for a starter and tossed that in. Back to BeerSmith to adjust recipe a bit for my new brown amber IPA. When I was getting ready to add hops, I realized that I had a bunch of partial ounces of hops from various batches. So I used a lot of those instead.

It was really fun to do this. I have no idea what I will end up with and it is still in primary, but I know for sure that I can never recreate it again :cheers: