Small batch questioin

I’m considering buying the Delux Brewer Startere Kit. Are there smaller recipes or can I divide recipes? I’m not sure I want to make five gallons of every beer I try. Thanks!

Well, my real question is can I brew smaller batches in the five gallon setup. Stop laughing. I’m a beginner;-)

Yes. :cheers:

However it is basically the same amount of effort to brew a single gallon as it is to brew 5 gallons, but nets you 2 cases instead of a 12 pack

I think a half batch is a good happy medium. Get a food-grade 5-gallon bucket and omega lid from a local box store, drill a half-inch hole to fit the airlock grommet. Makes a perfect fermenter for a 2.5-3.5 gallon batch. You can do a full boil on most stoves, is small enough to cool in a water bath in the sink, and in most cases you don’t need to make a starter for liquid yeast. In the end, you usually get a case plus a few.

I disagree. Its less effort both in cost of goods and equipment but also time involved, and you can experiment with many different styles and basically brew every weekend. I have about 10 different beers to choose from and I am always making a new and different recipe.

To each is own, but I love small batches. :smiley:

I disagree. Its less effort both in cost of goods and equipment but also time involved, and you can experiment with many different styles and basically brew every weekend. I have about 10 different beers to choose from and I am always making a new and different recipe.

To each is own, but I love small batches. :smiley: [/quote]
How long does it take you to brew a small batch? Takes me about 3 hours on brew day, setup to cleanup, for 5 gallons, and about 2 hours on bottling day. If I make the jump to kegging, most of that 2 hours would go away.