Single Hop Experiment

I’m pretty stoked to embark on a single-hop small batch series starting this weekend. My primary goal is to explore the nuances of each hop variety and how it suits my palate, so I have a better idea how to use them in recipes. A secondary goal is to burn through a good portion of hops I’ve accumulated from the 2012 harvest.

Two gallon batches. Same recipe, except for the hop variety and amount used in the bittering charge. Seven hop varieties. Target is 37 IBUs. I’m basically brewing a hoppy pale ale.

Who else has done this? What did you learn?

I just started something similar to you. I did a all Centennial ipa that turned out great and I have a Chinook ipa and cluster apa that are almost done. I used that same grain bill for the ipa’s and same hop schedules ibu should be very close. The cluster apa is a smash 2row and cluster. It should be very interesting to see how they turn out and learn a lot about each hop. I’m pretty new to brewing and was making my own recipes but was making guesses on what works good with each other, so I decided to do this to learn. Next up Columbus ipa!

As far as what I learned so far is that I like centennial a lot has a late addition hop and dry hop but the bittering did not have enough kit to it for a ipa IMO

The unfortunate thing about these experiments is that certain hop oils and compounds are only brought to light through blending in other hops with complimentary substances that activate them. There’s a really good article on this in Zymurgy’s May/June issue by Stan Hieronymus. I’ll try to find a way to post it.

So while you’re getting an idea of what the hop does you might want to throw in a very small amount of other hops to see how they play together. The point in this is that how hops interact is a combination of their powers. When boiled together they create something that is wholly different than if they were boiled separately and put together later. At least that’s how I understood it.