Shelf Life of Home Brew

I have been brewing for about 8 to 9 years now but still consider myself a rookie. Started out with a “Beer Machine” and worked my way up. About three and a half years ago I brewed up a batch of autumn ale and bottled it. I tried a couple of bottles after it had been bottle aging for from 4 to 5 weeks and didn’t care for it that much. I took it to my basement hoping to have some at a later date. I had some medical problems and was unable to have any of it because of surgery and treatments. I just started brewing again this past Saturday and will be needing my bottles that are currently occupied by this brew. I openned up a couple and dumped them out. Much to my suprise they had a nice carbonation, head and smelled really nice. I took one and chilled it and drank later that afternoon. It really isn’t my favorite beer, but it tasted much better than the early one that I had. I haven’t had any ill effect yet, but is there a risk associated with drinking beer this old??

Never argue with a fool in a crowd, after a few minutes, the crowd can"t tell who the original fool was.

I found a couple of my first brews earlier this year, extract pale ales I believe. They were pretty good actually, just a little less hoppy. I don’t think theres much risk as long as everything tastes/smells OK.

*edit
forgot to mention they were 3-4 years old

Only the risk of wanting another one:)

Thanks guys,

Now I’m going to have to drink all of that beer in a couple of weeks rather than dump it out. Perhaps I’ll spend my Christmas money on a new kegging system.

kegs for quick brews & bottles for long age-rs, IMO.

+1

When I started brewing I saved two bottles of every batch I brewed. After several years I finally broke down and drank them, most were just fine although not spectacular. I used some of them for cooking.

I had some 16 year old home brew and tried some. It was nicely carbonated and clear but had a cidery taste. I’m still ok.