Seems fermentation restarted in secondary

I am new to brewing. I brewed the caribou slobber as my first beer. After about three days in the primary, the foam on top had fallen and then the bubbling out of the air lock had stopped. I then transferred to secondary. After about two and a half weeks I checked the gravity by using a thief. I sanitized it before putting it in the fermenter. Since then it has started bubbling and a little foam is on the top. Not enough to cover the top, though. It has been a total of three weeks since brew day. Is this cause for concern?

It could very well be dissolved CO2 coming pout of solution and not fermentation at all. In the future, don’t xfer to secondary until at least a week or 2. Or do what most of us do and don’t use a secondary at all. Just leave the beer in primary for 3-4 weeks.

Denny is probably correct in thinking it is just trapped gas. I would wait a little longer in primary, even if most of the major work looks to be over.

On the other hand, late re-fermentation would be a sign of infection (but it would not just be a few bubbles - it would be pretty obvious). Keep an eye on it. If it continues like that for a while and does not clear out - it could be a problem. Otherwise you are fine.

Help me out here. In the secondary, is there little to no yeast left? I watched a video in where the person said the beer is taken out of the primary, off the settled yeast cake, and into a secondary with minimum head room. As I understand it, the goal is to have little to no yeast activity in the secondary? If so, how does that effect the natural carbonation in the bottling process? Or am I just completely off?