Sediment after racking

Hello all! This is my first post to this forum as I am just getting into winemaking and find your forum full of interesting information and hope to be here frequently.

I just racked my first batch of white zin from my primary bucket last week into a glass carboy. I’ve noticed after a few days that there is a lot of sediment in the bottom of the carboy and wonder if I inadvertently drew off too much of the lees from the primary fermentation container.

My recipe calls for heavy agitation in a few more days to degas before adding the final F pack and clearing and stabilizing ingredients. I don’t want to mess this up but all that sediment will suspend itself again in the wine. The directions say not to worry about that… hmmm.

Should I rack the wine again to remove as much sediment as possible? Or will it all fall out during the clearing process? I noticed pictures of other wines in carboys that seem to be perfectly clear with little sediment on the bottom of the container… have these been racked a second time after initial clearing?

Does anyone have any suggestions? This is a Vintners Reserve White Zin kit.

Thanks!

Either way you choose is fine. If you haven’t dosed it with KMETA yet I would think twice about racking again with it unprotected. Once you stabilize and fine it though, it’ll clear pretty quickly. The folks that write the directions are usually pretty close. :cheers:

You’ll be fine. Your fining agent will pull it out.
You can also let time be your friend and do extended bulk aging allowing most wines to clear on their own. This may sometimes require additional rackings.

Thanks so much for the answers… just a follow up…