Secondary fermenters - 5 gallon vs 6

hullo all - ok, let’s get this out of the way: hi. my name is jen. i’m a noob. i also have a deep distrust of capital letters. or shift keys. possibly, i’m just lazy.
ok, now for the question: i have a primary fermenter, 6.5 gallon. i’m looking to get a secondary, and i can see that everywhere has ‘secondary fermentors’ listed at 5 gallons. is there actually a reason for this? my preference would be to just get another 6.5 bucket and use it for either secondary or a second primary batch, as the case may be - it just seems like a more versatile option. that said, i don’t want to bung up out of the gate by getting the wrong equipment, so if there is some mysterious reason for the secondary to be less capacity, i’ll go that route. i’ve searched the forums, and it’s possible i’m missing it, but i haven’t seen this particular weirdo question asked. can anyone enlighten me?
oh - and i’m already hooked. my first batch (nut brown) is conditioning in bottles, second batch (st paul porter) is bubbling happily in the fermentor as we speak. i’ve already ordered a hydrometer, a copy of how to brew, and enough star san to get me thru 6 mo of brewing. i’m in for the long haul on this, so i want to make sure i do it right! :cheers:

Well first you are going to get a lot of people on here saying you don’t need to use a “secondary” fermenter. I use qoutes because unless you are actually adding new fermentables you are just using it as an aging vessel or bright tank.
Now for size. What do you want to use it as. If an aging vessel or bright tank you want a 5 gal carboy to limit the O2 in the headspace. This will limit any oxidation that may occur. Remember O2 BEFORE fermentation not after.
If you are going to use it to add new fermentables you can go with a bigger carboy to prevent blowoff. Blowoff is when the yeast and krausen rises to the airlock and spewing out the top.