Secondary Fermentation

I am a rank amateur brewer, brewing an Irish Red Ale from a NB extract kit. I am making a 5 gallon batch in 6 gallon carboys, and I am almost done with primary fermentation. So far so good.

My concern is that if I rack to my secondary fermenter (another 6 gallon carboy), there will be a lot of space for air in the carboy (the beer comes up 3/4, so the whole diameter of the carboy is exposed surface area). With all that exposed beer and slow fermentation, I’m concerned about contamination.

I’ve seen other comments on this board about secondary fermenters. I know that some people say don’t bother. My questions are, given the amount of airspace in my carboy, how significant is the risk of contamination (seems to me a real possibility)? And what is the real downside to not racking to a secondary fermenter (sounds like my beer will not be as clear, but I’m brewing from extract, not all grains and fresh hops, how bad can it be?). Am I missing something?

Thanks for listening to amateur hour.

Racking to as secondary vessel does increase the risk of contamination. How much the risk is increased depends upon your procedures and Murphys’ Law. You also risk oxidation of your beer. How much depends upon your procedures.

You can let your beer clear in the primary fermentor the same as it would clear in a secondary vessel. Leaving the beer in the primary to clear also leaves the CO2 layer intact to protect the beer from infection.

Change your procedure slightly when you siphon from the primary to your bottling bucket. Tilt the primary a couple of hours before you plan to rack. Doesn’t need to be much. This will aid in picking up the maximum amount of beer without getting into the trub. Start the siphon with your racking cane high. Gradually lower it as the level of your beer decreases. You will end up with clear beer in your bottling bucket.