Secondary fermentation

This is my first time. I’m trying to make the Cream Ale. The recipe doesn’t require a secondary fermentation other than in the bottles.

Would it be beneficial or a waste of time to go through a secondary fermentation process in another carboy?

This would add another two weeks to the fermentation process over and above the fermentation in the bottles…

Lots of folks believe secondary fermentation for an ale is a waste of time. I usually do it because I keep my kegs full and it allows me to add gelatin and do some conditioning in the carboy.

For you… I’d just make sure the beer’s done in the primary and bottle it up.

Secondary fermentation is misnomer. When you rack from the primary fermentation vessel to another vessel, you are racking to a secondary. If any fermentation ocurrs in the secondary vessel the racking was to early for almost all recipes. Fermentation should be allowed to complete in the primary.
A secondary vessel can be used for some extra clearing of the wort, but is usually for flavor and aroma additions.

I basically never bother with racking. The main exception is if I’ve got something that needs to age for a truly long time - a couple months at least. In that case I’ll transfer it to a carboy in order to get it out of the bucket.

I just don’t really see the point. I do know of people who swear they get clearer beer by racking. But my friends who rack often express envy at how clear my beer is, so I’ve never personally felt the need. Certainly not enough to make me feel motivated to go through with the extra hassle.

[quote=“flars”]Secondary fermentation is misnomer. When you rack from the primary fermentation vessel to another vessel, you are racking to a secondary. If any fermentation ocurrs in the secondary vessel the racking was to early for almost all recipes. Fermentation should be allowed to complete in the primary.