Secondary Fermentation Pros/Cons

What is the advantage to a secondary fermentation? Some recipes call for it, some don’t, some say it is optional. I am new to home brewing. I have my first batch in the carboy hoping to be done this weekend.

I don’t want to be that guy, but this question comes up a lot. Take a look at the search results below, and come back here if you can’t find an answer to your question. Once again: Welcome to the forum!

http://forum.northernbrewer.com/search?q=secondary%20fermentation%20order:latest

2 Likes

Secondary used to be the standard for every batch back when the thinking was to get the beer off the yeast as soon as possible. But that’s only a necessity for professionals with giant fermenters. Now it is either a recipe-specific thing or personal preference. Recipe based reasons are when you want to dry-hop, add fruit or some other addition. And dry hopping can even be done in primary. The other reason for secondary is bulk aging a heavy beer like a barley wine, scottish wee heavy or other high gravity beer. One reason not to go to secondary is that every time you touch your beer or expose it to the environment, you increase (slightly) the risk of infection. The other reason not to secondary is LBS (Lazy Brewer Syndrome)! I suspect this is the main reason for skipping secondary :slight_smile: …or should I say it’s the primary reason?

1 Like

Here’s what John Palmer has to say…

“Therefore I, and Jamil and White Labs and Wyeast Labs, do not recommend racking to a secondary fermenter for ANY ale, except when conducting an actual second fermentation, such as adding fruit or souring. Racking to prevent autolysis is not necessary, and therefore the risk of oxidation is completely avoidable. Even lagers do not require racking to a second
fermenter before lagering.”

4 Likes

Looks like Denny and a host of other notable Brewers agree with you Barbarian!! Nice job!!
Sneezles61

1 Like