Scottish Wee Heavy Stalled?

Hi all, I have been brewing for about 3 years. I’ve never had a problem until now. I brewed all grain Scottish Wee Heavy Kit. Everything was spot on, though I didn’t quite hit my O.G. O.G. Was about 1.074. I added the yeast in the primary. Fermentation started vigorously. The air lock was chugging away after 24 hours. I put it under my house where I always put it, and forgot about it. Two weeks later, I transfer to the secondary.

Here is my problem. Gravity reading upon transfer to secondary was 1.050. I’m a bit baffled. I didn’t make a yeast starter. Never have. Was that my problem? I hydrated the yeast before adding, and it was doing its thing vigorously at 24 hours. Two weeks later, it is nowhere near the ending gravity that I need.

After brewing, we had a cold snap in the weather, so perhaps it got a bit on the cool side under the house. However, I do not believe it dropped below 50 or 55 degrees F. Perhaps the yeast went dormant during the cold snap? Or did the yeast just poop out?

So my question. What do I do now? I’ll take another gravity reading this Saturday, a week after my last one, to see if it continues to drop, or if it is truly stuck. If it is stuck, do I make a starter and pour it in? Is this batch ruined? Please give me your thoughts and advice.

Cheers!

Get it somewhere warmer…and see if the yeast picks back up…but since you already transferred you may need to repitch.

Did you measure your gravity with a refractometer?

No. I used a hydrometer.

Yeah, I agree with @uncdeo. Warm her back up, and repitch some yeast. This would be a good time to use dry yeast, as they don’t require oxygenation and you probably don’t want to introduce oxygen at this point.

Very very quietly stir up yer yeast along with warming it up, sanitize yer spoon and yer hands too! Sneezles61