Scared to death to brew my own recipe

I have been brewing extract kits from Northern Brewer for 3 years now. All 10 batches have been successful, always 5 gallons of carbonated drinkable beer. I have a hardcore homebrew store near my house in NJ and have only bought supplies from them, but never ingredients for a batch. They have a huge selection of hops and other ingredients. Way overwhleming.

My dilemma is that I know the Northern brewer kits are good, but want to increase my depth as a brewer by not only impressing my friends with homebrew, but actually creating a beer of my own.

I am leaning towards an amber or pale ale, but that can quickly change to a stout.

Any suggestions on this first step outside the conforts of this site would be great. Maybe I should just copy an ingredient kit, or just gamble and create from profiles I believe are good together???

Work off of a recipe that you like but wished it could be just a little bit… Imagine a pale ale recipe that could use just a little more crystal and bit more bitterness bite in the end. Just an example idea, but this is where it all starts. Most people will tell you to only change one factor at a time. This is good advice, so that you can keep tabs on the changes without getting too confused. Hope this helps. Don’t be afraid…it’s just beer.

I agree, don’t be afraid. Every homebrewer eventually puts their own recipes together and some are great and some require extra work. When I wanted to put a recipe together I usually consulted one of my recipe books (Beer Captured, maybe Designing Great Beers) and look for something similar and then maybe tweak it towards my tastebuds. Remember that yeast strain can dramatically change a beer’s profile so maybe take an existing pale ale recipe and then, for example, use a Belgian yeast and call it a Belgian Pale Ale. You can also post your creation in the recipe forum and ask for direction from the board. Guarantee you’ll get some helpful feedback. Cheers.