Sanitizer Problem

I have been making wine for about 5 years now. In the beginning I started off using Star San. I found very quickly that it seemed to irritate my throat. I’ve noticed this same problem in home made beers that friends have made that have used star san. So I switched to using ld carlson 1 step (yes, I know its not the best for sanitizing) but now I’m noticing the same problem in wines that I know where made only using 1 step.

For the Star San I can taste the difference immediately in most batches of wine or beer that have used it. I can’t taste 1 step but I can feel it.

I was thinking maybe these batches had turned to vinegar but I’ve made enough vinegar (bad wine) over the last few years that I’m pretty quick to spot that problem. These batches don’t seem to have any trace of vinegar. But I know I didn’t properly use sulfites in a lot of my early batches and the 2 I’m having a problem with didn’t really get any sulfites…so maybe they are vinegar and I just can’t tell.

The only thing I can think of is star san says no rinse but maybe that means I need to let it fully dry before using. And maybe 1 step is the same way. In my searching of forums everyone seems to think its ok to use this stuff while still wet.

Thanks

I still to this day give everything a quick rinse, opposite the directions saying no need to… Im not sensitive to the chemicals, but would rather try dilute/eliminate them whenever possible… The only brews I turned to vinegar where from not cleaning a fermenter once, and two times had a fruit fly dive bombed into my bucket…. a long time ago… Sneezles61

I keep a pot of near boiling water on brew day and use that for anything that needs sanitized. I’m Thinking 200 years ago that’s what they did. I also try to avoid chemicals when it’s convenient.

I’m guessing you don’t drink colas either then as they have more phosphoric acid in them than the StarSan residue.