Run Of The Mill Newbie Questions

Hello all you hop heads, I am a relative newbie and have a few queries I hope you all can answer for me. I got the bug from Mr. Beer last Christmas and moved to NB 5 gallon batches in May, so I’m not brand new but still pretty damn green. Living in Virginia during the summer without a basement hasn’t been the best environment (in terms of temps), but hey.

1. PBW. How much do you all use to clean a 6.5 gallon carboy, and how much do you use to clean a 5 gallon brew kettle? I’m a bit confused because the posts I have seen do not differentiate between amount by Volume or by Weight. I am about to order a gang of PBW so I’d like to know before I execute the transaction.

2. Temperature. It’s been a hot summer. I have a second bathroom that I use only for my carboy, and I have a digital thermometer to gauge the ambient temperature in there. I also have the thermometer from NB pasted on the side of my primary carboy. Does said thermometer account for the extra degrees generated by the activity of the yeast? I have an improvised swamp cooler and get the ambient temperature down to about 68 degrees or less for primary fermentation, but I want to avoid the esters as much as possible. Can I trust the thermometer sticker to give me true data on the temperature of the wort during primary fermentation?