Reflecting on a Year of Brewing

It’s been almost one year since I started brewing, and a bit over a year since I began lurking on this forum. I was deployed overseas in a country where drinking isn’t allowed, and passed the time by thinking about making my own.

I’m kind of amazed at how far I’ve managed to come in a year, thanks largely to the information I’ve obtained from this forum. Thanks to all your help, I’ve been able to go all-grain, understand water chemistry, and begin kegging. There have been some missteps, but nothing I’ve made has been an outright disaster, and for each step back I’ve been able to take two steps forward.

All that came together this weekend, when my buddy and I threw an Oktoberfest party. I supplied two cornies full of Festbier, one a straight-ahead Marzen and the other a Wiesn. He supplied sausages and a big back yard full of hop bines. Our guests managed to finish both kegs in a couple of hours and were clamoring for more.

The Wiesn particularly was a hit. It had awesome clarity, a really delicate hop presence, and a big fluffy white head. I can (and did!) drink many liters of the stuff. Here are some pictures…damn I wish I had more of it. Thanks again, and happy brewing!

Yea!

Very nice!

Das BOOT!

Whats the difference between marzen and a wiesn?

http://www.bjcp.org/2008styles/style03.php http://www.bjcp.org/2008styles/style15.php

Good on ya Flashman! Brewing for a party is tough, but usually results in a really memorable experience. Especially when the beer is good, its gone REAL early.

http://www.bjcp.org/2008styles/style03.php http://www.bjcp.org/2008styles/style15.php

Good on ya Flashman! Brewing for a party is tough, but usually results in a really memorable experience. Especially when the beer is good, its gone REAL early.[/quote]