Recirculating mash and whirlpooling

So I am getting 2 kegs gonna convert to a mash tun and boil kettle, and I’m gonna do all the welded fittings myself, but I’m curious about recirculating wort, putting more fittings on the keggles and also doing an inlet for recirculation on my boil kettle.

I was reading somewhere on the interweb where it said recirculating the mash will clear it and if thats the case I assume its not that difficult of a setup, but what about heat loss… Are there upsides and down sides of it.

Also question 2, I have a 25’ CFC I made and is there a problem with running it through the chiller back into the kettle to cool it that way or does it take too long?

I’m still really new to all this fancy homebrewing shenanigans, so any help would be great.
Thanks guys!

The step to clear the mash by recirculation is known as vorlauf. You’re probably already doing this in one way. I can’t think of any other reason to recirculate the mash unless you’re doing step mashing or temperature maintenance with a RIMS system or something similar.

I hook up my pump and recirculate the wort slowly from the drain to the top of the grain bed. I do this step in the last 10-15 minutes of the mash. There is some minimal heat loss, but I make up for it in the hot sparge water that’s added subsequently. To recirculate the mash, you won’t need any extra fittings - just pump from the outlet valve and through your sparge arm, or whatever you might have.

If your CFC is getting the wort down to pitching temperatures with one pass, there shouldn’t be a need to pump it back into the kettle.