Recipe Review

Never done this before, but with a little help I might make it through. I have done many extract brews with steeping grains but have always followed the recipe to the letter. I want to try to make a beer recipe for myself that I will like. I am looking at doing a smokey porter.

I worked with Brew Target software to come up with what I have. Any suggestions or corrections will be appreciated, but then again, I might just brew it to see what it is like.

3.3 lbs Coopers LME - Amber
4.0 lbs Dry Extract DME - Dark
8.0 oz Chocolate Malt (US)
4.0 oz Briess - Smoked Malt

2.0 oz Perle hops - Bittering
1.0 oz Goldings - Aroma

Irish moss in boil

WLP041 - Liquid Pacific Ale yeast.

OG = 1.061
FG = 1.020

if you want the smokiness to come through you may want to up the smoked malt to at least 8 oz, otherwise it looks good.

Thanks a lot, I am just learning with the experimentation and formulating recipes. I hope to be able to work out an all grain one of these days.

keep in mind that dark malt extract has a lot of unfermentables in it. it will probably finish out above 1.020

Agree with Scoggin. I would suggest replacing 1 pound of extract with 1 pound of cane sugar to get the final gravity down to 1.020 or less.