Raspberry Wheat clone - hop additions

I’m currently toying around with trying to create a clone recipe to a local beer call Razz Wheat by Jackie O’s in Athens, OH.

This is my first attempt at trying to create a recipe and I thought this might be a good start considering their description seems pretty straight forward.

http://jackieos.com/drupal/?q=beer/razz-wheat

Considering they use saaz hops and it is a wheat beer, what would someone recommend for hop additions in order to get the IBU’s into a normal range for a wheat beer. I know saaz is typically a finishing hop based on what I’ve read but it seems that I would either need to add a ton of hops late or do a relatively early addition to reach something in the range of 20 IBU based on toying with the beersmith app.

For a 5 gallon batch, I using 6 lbs of white wheat and 4 lbs of 2 row for the all grain for their 60-40 split and that appears that it will get me in the ball park of their 5% ABV.

I’ve never had this beer, but I imagine is has little to no hop flavor or aroma. So you’ll want to just add a bittering charge.

Does it have that traditional hefe character of banana, cloves or bubblegum? I’m guessing it doesn’t and if this is true, use an American wheat strain.

By the color you can tell they age it on real raspberries. Where to start on that… not sure. What you could do is start at 2 lbs/gal in secondary and see where it gets you. You could then add more, or go with raspberry extract to taste.

I have no advice for you, but only seek it. How are you doing this beer? From a beer recipe kit, and then adding your own fruits? How would I get started on this?

Reason I am asking it my wife is demanding I make something for her, but she really doesn’t like (real) beer :frowning: . So I said I would either make a fruity beer like a razberry wheat, or a “Tequiza” like beer.

Ooops, correction, she isn’t “demanding” just requesting! :smiley: