Back to Shopping at NorthernBrewer.com

Racking an American wheat over fruit

if you rack an american wheat over fruit, would you rack then bottle? or would you rack in secondary and let it sit? if so how much longer? also for a 5lb batch how much fruit would you need approximately? I’m very new to brewing, first batch is fermenting now and brewing is consuming my thoughts day and night. cant stay off the forums, there is so much to learn.

Thanks in advance for the help :cheers:

There’s worse things in life. If you rack into the bottling bucket I think it will be to much sugar and will over carbonate your bottles.

What I have done with fruit additions is to grab a large mesh straining bag and put the fruit in it and use a plastic bucket for secondary. This way, after the secondary fermentation (which will actually be a secondary fermentation as the yeast consume the sugars) you can get most fruit out by simply lifting the bag out. The rest will eventually settle out.
How much fruit depends on the fruit you use. A good starting place is a pound per gal (so 5lbs for your 5gal batch). However, once you decide what fruit to use you can search on here and other forums for “ideal” amounts.

Welcome aboard! This hobby very easily becomes an obsession so I can believe that you think about it day and night. I extract brewed for about 1.5 years and have AG for about 5 years and I still think about it day and night.

:cheers: [quote=“Loopie Beer”]What I have done with fruit additions is to grab a large mesh straining bag and put the fruit in it and use a plastic bucket for secondary. This way, after the secondary fermentation (which will actually be a secondary fermentation as the yeast consume the sugars) you can get most fruit out by simply lifting the bag out. The rest will eventually settle out.