Questions I Should Have Asked Earlier

I’ve been brewing for many years. I only brew 4-6 beers a year. I have maybe 20-25 all-grains under my belt. Here are my questions:

1. After sparging today I happened to lay the tun almost on it’s side over a garbage bag and left it there for a few minutes while I did something else. I was removing the spent grain and noticed some nice wort in the bottom. I always new it’s hard to draw all the wort out of the grain but this ended up being a little over a quart. I filtered it through a mesh bag. Is this a common practice to try to draw every bit of wort from the grain?

2. I’m the type that now doesn’t mind getting trub in the fermenter, but, today I was watching the keggle as I was draining it and at the end there was good wort surrounding the cold break material. I whirlpooled and let the wort sit for a good 30 minitues before transferring to the carboy. It didn’t look as though there was a mound of trub in the center. The wort and cold break material was not really separate it was more a homogeneous solution. Before storing my keggle I even redesigned it to suck almost to the bottom of the pot. Is this OK?

Thanks for the help.

I brewed today for the second time with my new Blichman burner. The first time it was windy outside and wasn’t impressed with the burner. Today I brewed in the garage and it was like night & day. I must have cut a good 30 minutes from my brew day. Also, for the second time I stirred the hot wort while chilling with my immersion chiller and in less than 10 minutes I was from boiling to 66 deg F - this saved at least another 20 minutes (neew to build a wort stirrer).

Mike

1. I use one of the round upright coolers for a tun and after draining everything and before dumping the tun on the comost pile, at least 15 minutes has elapsed. I usually gather the last of the wort (cup to pint or so) and add to the kettle before dumping the spent grain.