Back to Shopping at NorthernBrewer.com

Question for beer drinkers

Alright, I have a question for the group. I’ve been drinking beer for roughly 14 years and enjoying the beer i’ve been drinking for about 9, right about the time I started to homebrew. Growing up in Minnesota the beer I started with was either going to be Michelob Golden Draft or Miller High life because at pre-legal to buy beer age this is what was available to us. Once I turned 21, the craft beer available at the local stores was most likely going to be stuff from Sam Adams, Summit Brewery or Schells Brewery in New Ulm, MN. I enjoy these beers and have used them and similar beers to their stuff to craft many of my homebrews. I feel that the craft beers available then opened drinkers to a wide variety of beers, from “lawnmower” style beers up to Belgian Tripels and everything in between. My question stems from hanging out this evening with several beer friends who have gotten in to the craft beer phase within the last year or year and a half. All they could talk about was high gravity and high IBU’s, I found talking to them and others that this is their new thing, lets get beers into the 9% plus range and load them with IBU’s. I also found talking to them that when I would bring up things like “Flying Monkeye’s” oyster stout, “Left hand brewings” Sawtooth Ale, or this years batch of Oktoberfests, that I’m getting looked at like I use to look at the guy who would brag up Budweisers American ale. I love the craft beer industry and the stuff that Stone, Dogfish head and others are doing is amazing but are the extremes of brewing creating a group of “craft beer” drinkers that can’t appreciate anything that won’t knock you on your ass after one beer? and maybe even driving off novice drinkers that think that this is what all non Anheiser-Busch and Miller beers taste like. Sorry about the length of this post but its almost midnight here and I’ve been drinking since 2 and this bugged me tonight. feel free