Question about secondary fermentation

Hi guys ! I’m on my 3ed batch of brew, this time a Caribou Slobber that I had in Primary for 2 weeks than rack to a secondary glass carboy. Now on my 3ed week in secondary. This is my first time doing a secondary and I see that the air lock still bubbles every 20 or so seconds and has a good amount of foam around the carboy on the edge of the beer and looks to me like still active yeast. Is it still fermenting or is this ready to bottled ? thanks

Most likely (I’d say for sure) it is done, but the only way to be certain is to start taking gravity readings a couple days apart and when it stabilizes, preferably under 1.025’s or so you’ll know you’re there. Just remember…the hydrometer is your friend. LOL

Cheers!!

Thanks / The Fhunt - Still new to Gravity reading - I took a reading before pitching yeast and was a 1.040 ( I think ) Will do it again and see what I come up with. Thanks for the Info !

Agree with above. You need to take a gravity reading and taste it. Frankly I’d be somewhat concerned about getting krauesen at this late date after transfer to a secondary vessel. A second bout of fermentation could indicate an infection.

This…

Caribou Slobber still fermenting after 5 weeks? Seems pretty odd to me.

There usually shouldn’t be that much fermentation going in the secondary… Mine was done in a week and a half and when I racked to the secondary there was no foam and no bubbling.

Either way, take a sample and read the gravity for a few days. If it’s still dropping, then it’s still going. I would give it a smell and a taste though as well, as I agree with the above about possible infection.

This…

Caribou Slobber still fermenting after 5 weeks? Seems pretty odd to me.

There usually shouldn’t be that much fermentation going in the secondary… Mine was done in a week and a half and when I racked to the secondary there was no foam and no bubbling.