Pumpkin Ale - soup like?

I’m brand new to the home-brewing world, so please pardon my ignorance.

My first batch of beer was an attempt at a pumpkin ale. I used all-natural pumpkin puree. But, I didn’t put the puree in a bag and I didn’t add rice hulls. I’m worried the batch is going to have the consistency of soup. Is there anything I can add to the primary fermentor to help sort of thin it out? Is there anything else I can do (secondary fermentation, etc.) to help?

Thanks!

[quote=“BigWoods”]I’m brand new to the home-brewing world, so please pardon my ignorance.

My first batch of beer was an attempt at a pumpkin ale. I used all-natural pumpkin puree. But, I didn’t put the puree in a bag and I didn’t add rice hulls. I’m worried the batch is going to have the consistency of soup. Is there anything I can add to the primary fermentor to help sort of thin it out? Is there anything else I can do (secondary fermentation, etc.) to help?

Thanks![/quote]

When did you add the puree? to the boil?

I wouldn’t worry about the consistency. All of that pumpkin matter will settle out with the slumbering yeast, trub, proteins, etc.

I would leave it for a minimum of (you won’t like this) 2-3 weeks though :slight_smile:

Thanks for the reply. I added it to the boil.

I don’t mind the wait - I did a little research and most people seem to suggest leaving it in the primary fermentor for about this long. If I leave it for 2-3 weeks though, about how long should I leave it in the bottles? Or is this mostly a subjective thing?

Thanks!

If you keep the bottled beer in the 70s, it’ll take a week or so to carbonate. If you fill at least one PET bottle along with the others, you can follow easily determine when the batch is carbed.

Good idea. Thanks!