Back to Shopping at NorthernBrewer.com

Prime Dose

Has anyone tried the Prime Dose carb pills that NB is selling?

Just curious.

Yeah, I saw those in the last catalog as well. I am a little curious to see if they are worth buying before dropping the cash for them.

Yeah, the way NB is pimping them, you’d think Christ came down and delivered them himself.

I’m really new to this, but I just bottled my second batch (Whitehouse Honey Ale) and used prime dose. The first batch I did was American Wheat which came with the deluxe kit, not sure if I primed the right amount of sugar but the beer tasted really good though there was inconsistency with the carbonation of the bottles. Thought I’d try prime dose for this one, I’ll post in a couple of weeks and see how it goes.

I’m looking forward to reading your results, Dave.

I just purchased a bottle of PD from NB. I am testing them on some 22oz bottles of surely smoke that did not do well carbonating. I tried them on four bottles as a test. I only added 3 tablets since I had some carbonation already. I’ll pop one open in two weeks and let you know how it worked out.

Maybe Wil Wheaton recommended them.

I used them in a sour (Flanders Red) that I submitted to a competition and the judges said the carbonation was too low. I have some RIPA that I made with a small batch, so I used the PD when I bottled that this past week - will try a test bottle next weekend to see…it uses CBC yeast and sugar, so it should work.

I was curious about these too. Especially because I think different beer styles should be carbed differently and I don’t see how these can take that into consideration.

That’s a little concerning as the BJCP guidelines says a Flanders Red should be low-to-medium carbonation.

They do seem like a good idea for small or experimental batches, especially if long aging was used.

Is there any further news on this? I’d be very interested to learn whether this product works well.