Primary Fermentation Bucket

Hi everyone!

I’m quite new to this scene and had a question I was hoping someone could answer. Can I use a bucket similar to this one,

http://www.northernbrewer.com/shop/cata ... tegory/20/

for my primary fermentation of beer? The guy at my local wine/beer shop said it would work for beer and I purchased it trusting him. But after brewing my first batch, there were some off flavours so I did some more research. The off flavours could have been from a few other variables like sanitization, fermentation temp., etc. Like I said, I’m quite new to this, so I just want to know if this bucket is part of the problem or is it okay to use for beer?

Thanks,

Yes you can use that for fermenting beer. Off flavors can come from a very large list of things you would have to be more specific. Whats your process?

Well, because I’m very new to this, I didn’t want to invest too much to begin with. I don’t have a big pot or burner or wort cooler so I bought a kit where there’s a big bag full of malt extract, and then you add it to distilled water and add the yeast pretty much. There’s no cooking involved.

The sanitizer I have is call 1 Step. It’s a rinseless sanitizer, but I failed to emmerse the entire bucket and carboy. I just mixed the solution as per instructions and scrubed and cleaned it, but after watching a few videos on NB.com, I realized that I have to let it soak in the bucket.

I’ll try again this weekend with a new batch, making sure sanitization is STRICTLY followed and if it’s still no good, then I know it’s a different variable.

Not sure what kind of kit this was, but if it really was just DME, water and yeast, it probably had some pretty bad flavors. No hops? This sounds more basic than a Mr. Beer kit.

The kit was “The Brew House” brand, and yeah, there were no hops involved in the process. Here’s a picture of the kit I tried.

The hops have already been added. Like I said the bucket is fine.