Primary Ferment question

First off I’m a noob. I sincerely apologize if this has been covered Ad Naseum on here, did a search but did not find what I needed
So I have a batch of wine fermenting in the warmest room in the house, but I’ve been relegated to using a heating pad under the bucket to try and keep the temp up. It has been 7 days as of today. Yesterday I noticed a bit of the wine entering the stem of my airlock. This morning it is well into the stem, but still bubbling freely (not stuck). I just burped the bucket, took a peek and there is still an active ferment going on. The kit reccomends racking (is that the correct term?) to the secondary at this time frame, but I’m thinking I am going to wait at least until the ferment slows a bit. Weather changed quite a bit from below zero this week to around 30F at this time (don’t know if this is pertinent or not). This is a French Cabernet with the dual oak packages added at the start, so my concern is leaving this to long might make it to “woody”.

Addendum-- Kit is Select International French Cab Sauv.

http://www.northernbrewer.com/shop/wine ... ignon.html

Thanks!
The
FoamFollower

tough to say what instructions and kit you have. I would clean out the airlock and put fresh clean cold water in it and also maybe let it go a few more days. activity is not supposed to stop totally when you rack, so do not worry about it. it will still finish fermentation and bubbling in the secondary. Oh - and sterilize the airlock again too.

Pretty much what that guy said. I don’t see any major issues either way. A few more days in the primary won’t change much. Racking at this point is not likely to do anything negative either. Sounds like the wine had a pretty slow start, but most of the fermentation is likely done by now. Afew days in not going to affect the woodiness of the wine all that much.