Preferred Styles and How Brewing Changes Them

So, I was thinking today about how my style preferences have changed over the years, and then about how brewing has dramatically changed everything.

Before college, I never drank. At all. Well, except on Passover, and Manischewitz wasn’t exactly endearing me to adult beverages :wink: .

In college, I developed a huge affinity for IPAs. This lasted a few years, but eventually I got tired of them and came to really enjoy brown ales. Still, I always found the more subtle flavors of many lager styles to be unimpressive, preferring the bolder flavors of browns and even IPAs.

Last year, I started brewing, and suddenly I’m (re)interesting in all kinds of different styles. After IPAs fell out of favor, I developed this notion that they were the result of simply throwing a ton of hops in and calling it a day. I quickly realized that wasn’t the case at all, and so I tried my hand at it. While I wasn’t 100% pleased with the initial results, my appreciation for the style was rekindled in a big way, and I’m now refining my two “house” beers: an IPA and a brown.

I’ve also come to develop a greater appreciation for lagers and other styles I’ve generally avoided. Now that I know the kind of craftsmanship that can go into them, I find them much more interesting and enjoyable.

Once I get my “house” recipes dialed in, it will be exciting to explore the other possibilities out there, and perhaps add new styles to my list of favorites.

Anyone else find dramatic shifts in their tastes over the years and/or as a result of brewing?

I can definitely relate to this.

I didn’t drink until I was 21.

The very first beer I had was a Guinness. I’m part Irish and thought I should enjoy the beer of my Irish heritage.

I could barely choke it down - I thought it was horrendous.

I started drinking the Smirnoff’s and Mich Golden Light.