Porter Using Dark Extract

I’m a rookie brewer and I’m looking for a simple way to make a porter using our host’s or maybe another dark LME. Any ideas? I did one with 6 lbs of LME dark, 1 lb of DME, and 1 oz of fuggles (60 min). That’s it. It was okay but a bit boring to me.

Steeping grains are your friends…

Believe it or not, a lot of extract brewers use light DME for all of their recipes. The color/roast flavor comes from the grains that you steep.

Thanks for the response! A good point. In the long run, I think that’s the primary way I want to go. I’d like to be able to do both, if possible. Plus I have some of this on hand.
I’ve also been making some SMaSH beers. That’s been fun,tasty, and I think I’m learning some stuff.

I agree with the previous poster. If brewing with extracts I would never use anything other that the light extract and use steeping grains for color and any specialty grain additions. There are two main reasons for this: one, if you start using the darker extracts you really have no idea what they did to get the extract darker (and you have therefore just lost control of your recipe) and two, one day you will want to go to all grain and it’s very easy to convert an extract recipe to all grain if you used only light extract but difficult if using the darker extracts.