Poor mans/ garbage brew

So the recipes I use always have dry grains left over (anywhere from .5 to 2 lbs). The type ranges from Munich to 2-row to Briess and many in between. I would like to make a brew out of this, but I don’t know what would be the best selection of hops and yeast. I understand that it might taste weird, but I’m willing to accept it to avoid throwing away good grain.

What would be the best subtle hop selection? I’m not a big IPA fan, I love lagers and stouts, with minor hop flavor.

And what would be the best type of yeast? Lager? Ale? I’m a novice so I’m not all that in-tune with the best yeast for the job.

I appreciate the help.

Cheers ya’ll

can you post exactly what grains you have? Those will determine the recipe. Long and short, you are probably better off just buying some pale extract (I’m assuming you are extract brewing) and making something that way. Why make (try to make) something that doesn’t taste good?

You could possibly do some small extractions to collect wort for yeast starters.

I know off the top of my head, I have 2-row, Pilsner, Munich and Briess. The “garbage” will be added to as I’m doing a Hefeweisen and a Bourbon Beer in the next month.

This is all grain. I don’t do extract. It’s not as fun, and I can’t control the wort as much as I would like.

I know off the top of my head, I have 2-row, Pilsner, Munich and Briess. The “garbage” will be added to as I’m doing a Hefeweisen and a Bourbon Beer in the next month.

This is all grain. I don’t do extract. It’s not as fun, and I can’t control the wort as much as I would like.[/quote]

You can use the pils for your hefe, and you can use the 2-row for your bourbon beer (not sure what the base style is).