Peach Wheat Beer

I’m a very novice brewer and wanted to make a peach beer. I came across the directions for an extract kit that NB used to sell and though I’d try the recipe. Anyway, here are the ingredients.

6 lbs Wheat dried malt extract
1 oz. Mt Hood hops
2 cans of peach puree
WYEAST 1010 AMERICAN WHEAT Yeast (I am actually using some White Labs American Hefeweizen I have…hopefully that won’t be an issue).

The extract and hops are boiled for 60 minutes, then goes to the primary for a couple of weeks. The recipe then calls to put the two cans of peach puree into the secondary and transfer the beer from the primary in with it. Anyhow, the peach puree I got from a local homebrew store is 3 lbs/can.

Is six pounds of peach puree to much for a 5 gal batch? Should I only use one 3lb can?

If anyone else has made something similar, any guidance would be appreciated.

TIA,
Crypto

Doesn’t the recipe specify the size if the cans?

I’m guessing the OP found the PDF of the beer.

http://www.northernbrewer.com/documenta ... hWheat.pdf

The size of the cans is not mentioned. The only size I have seen are the big #10 cans, old coffee can. Looking at NB web store, I don’t think the 3.1lb cans are the big ones. They might be considered a #5 or #6. #2 being a soup can.

http://www.thereadystore.com/containers/1071/big-10/ http://whatscookingamerica.net/Information/CanSize.htm

2 cans might be appropriate. Someone at the store may remember the kit.

Thanks for the replies. I guess I’ll contact NB and see if they remember what size the cans are/were.

Crypto

When I did an Apricot Ale, the purée cans were about the size of a big soup can, I think.

I was just in my LHBS. They have the #10 cans and these smaller 3.1lb cans. The 3.1lb cans are larger than a big can of Bush’s Baked Beans.

Let us know what the store says?

That is about the size I recall

The cans I have a 3lbs 1oz. I have the Vintners Harvest Peach Puree.