OK, dumb question number 438

I’m an emerging rookie brewer having done 8 5gal extract batches with good results so far.

I started an extract batch of a wheat beer. Boil day went fine, pitched yeast and it took off in a timely fashion. It foamed up a fair amount (in a 6.5 gal big mouth carboy…) so i put on a blow off tube into a bucket of water.

The plan was to leave the house for a week to attend a wedding out of state. While at the wedding we got a call about a family emergency that we needed to deal with and ended up staying away from the house for almost a month.

When we got back the fermentation had stopped and the water in the bucket with the blow off tube was NASTY. Very foul smelling. I tasted the beer and while it didn’t taste obviously bad, it didn’t taste all that great either. I don’t trust my palette to really determine if the beer is bad. I’m really not sure what to look for (taste for) to determine if the batch is ruined.

So my question is… Could some badness get from the blow off bucket into the beer and ruin it? If so, what should i look for, smell for, taste for, to determine if i need to dump it?

Thanks in advance, guys!

Most times my blowoff tubes have spit some gunk out into the water, I probably wouldnt worry too much.

If the bucket at the other end of the blowoff tube didn’t go dry you should be okay. Typically people use sanitizer in that bucket, for what it’s worth…

I would dump it, personally.
I always use sanitizer for the blowoff hose. It may or may not actually be necessary, but I haven’t experienced anything near to what you describe, even with a few very long fermentations

[quote=“Shark”]I would dump it, personally.
I always use sanitizer for the blowoff hose. It may or may not actually be necessary, but I haven’t experienced anything near to what you describe, even with a few very long fermentations[/quote]