Odd question regarding color

Newbie here, with a nice newb question. I have brewed 3, 5 gallon batches of beer so far. All three are very tasty but the odd thing is they all have the same deep reddish color. 1st batch was the Irish ale which to me should have a reddish hue, next up was the Kama Citra, which judging from the pictures should be a golden session ipa, and third was the Bavarian heffwiezen, which I thought should be closer to the color of a blue moon, which should be a cloudy gold beer. I’m getting a consistent reddish ale look. Am I crazy or did I just pick three beers that look the same? Thanks guys!

I’m guessing that these were beers made from extract? You can make really good beer from extract, but it does have a few downsides that can be hard to get around. One of those is color. Extract brews are darker than all grain, even if they taste the same. You can reduce (not eliminate) this effect by doing a full volume boil, or if that is not possible due to the size of your kettle and stove, you can do a late-extract addition. Late extract method involves adding half the extract at the start of the boil, and holding off on adding the rest until there are just 15 minutes left in the boil. Make sure to take the kettle off the stove when you add the remaining extract to avoid it scorching on the bottom, and mix it in thoroughly before putting it back on the boil.

I can’t completely answer your question. I will say that extract batches always turn out darker than all-grain batches due to carmelization of the sugars. This may be a factor in what you’re experiencing.

on the subject of colors, look up " Maillard reaction in beer wert". not really applicable in extract beers but when doing all grain it helps to know that its part of the science.

Irish Red contains darker colored malts, cara, biscuit, roast, chocolate - not too surprising

Kama Citra contain Crystal 40 - not too surprising