Observations....questions.......concerns

What in wide wide world is going on here?
I love NB. I drive past a hydroponic store to shop there in person. the people are always gracious, and they never laugh at my questions to my face. I’ve taken classes there and never went away dissapointed.
My background is marketing so I have always had a conflict with accountants who look at numbers and spread sheets and don’t seem to take other factors into account.

BTV gone: I know it has been beat to death, but I thought this was the face of NB. Very much like the staff in Milwaukee entertaining, educational, enlightening.

No flat rate shipping: It doesn’t apply to me, but it seems to keep popping up as a real concern with people who don’t live 10 miles away from one of their stores.

Concerns over items not available: Gift cards have become a huge percentage of pre holiday sales. Day after Christmas sales can decimate inventories if not anticipated. Inventory crushes retail, but sales of gift cards should give retailers an indicator of future post holiday rush.

Market direction: Went in last night for a Saturday brew day. Kits finally back in stock the shelves empty right after Christmas. Rahr 2 row out of stock, Rye malt oos, Maris Otter 4 lbs. I needed 5. I could get numerous t-shirts, glass wear, pre made labels, but not base malts.

Anybody else notice something that reeks of HR patting you on the knee and saying “We’ve decided to go in a different direction”. I sure hope not.

I think NB is a good business, and just like any good business, they need to carefully weigh where they can reduce expenses, or whether to pass on costs for premium products and services to their customers, in order to stay competitive.