Non-hopped, herbal ales

Curious if anyone here are making any non-hopped herbal brews like the historic ones in Sacred & Herbal Healing Beers? I’ve brought it up when I’ve been at my local NB getting supplies and usually just get a confused stare.

I’m new to brewing and oddly started with these herbal beers since I have some herbalist training and am intrigued with the history of these beers.

The two recipes I’ve tried so far are just herbs such as dried nettles, meadowsweet, agrimony, pine tips, dandelion leaf, etc, organic cane sugar, and a standard English or America ale yeast. No hops or grain.

Since I haven’t done any traditional brewing yet, I’m guessing that using a grain instead of the sugar might give a totally different flavor? The beers I’ve tested (most are still aging) seem to have a cidery flavor and I’m wondering if that is because of the sugar I’m using?

Also, the ABV is rather high, 8.27% on this last one I made. I’d actually prefer to keep the ABV in a more normal range but am not sure how to control that.

Anyhow, if anyone has tried beers like these, I’d like to hear about your experiences.

There is quite a bit of information out there, and some breweries are making beers with various herbs instead of hops-I think New Belgium has a Gruit beer in their lips of faith series. I made one with Yarrow and Heather last summer that was quite nice. The old herbed beers were almost always made with grain, maybe some honey because other refined sugars were not generally available until fairly late in history. Using malt will give you a nice malty flavor, depending on what malts and specialty malts you decide to use, and not the cidery flavor you get from sugar. Look at Martyn Cornell’s work for more information;