Newbie Water Report

Hi All -

I am moving into AG and just got my wards report back. I thought I would throw it up here to get an initial bounce. Thanks for any feedback!

If you are going to brew anything on the light side I would consider dilluting your water quite a bit. Your water look pretty alkaline to me.

With that kind of sodium level, I’d guess the water went through a softener. That’s WAY too much sodium to be suitable for brewing. Not to mention the high alkalinity.

Thanks for the feedback!

I took it via the water spigot on the outside of my house, hopefully i am not watering my lawn with softened water…

I do have a softner though, any other reason for all that salt?

When diluting is there a good place to start? Sorry total newbie to the water relm of brewing.

Thanks!

wow I thought my water was bad. I would buy water from the store. I don’t think a ro system would last long with your water.There are ways of cleaning up your water but you would still be stuck with the salt (Na) and the expense.
I’ve been using water from one of those drinking water machines at the food store for 39 cent a gal. Its a good idea to have that water tested too. some of them do give good water, others do not.
as far as using your water I would cut it at least 50% with R.O. and brew dark beer. Not sure about where the salt is coming from but the first thing I would do is check the water softener lines and see if they are ran correct.

Holy smokes that’s a lot Na+ in your water!

I’d do 50% distilled water 50% tap water for anything under a SRM of 15, or American Pale Ale or lighter.

to clarify anything that is lighter in color, dilute it

Another option is to download bru’n water and get familiar with it. From there you can use 100% distilled water than build your water profile out. That’s what I did and I have been very pleased with the results.

Thanks Andy, while it is kind of a bummer i appreciate the help and will def look at that program.