Newbie question

I’m just getting started and I’m gonna try a couple 1 gallon kits to get my feet wet.
Before I order,I wanted to ask about “Fizz Drops"…it says in directions :Add one per 12 oz. bottle.Only problem is, I have 16oz Grolsch bottles.
Do I need to skip these and just order priming sugar? and what amount would I use for each gallon?
Thanks in advance

I’ve used the Coopers drops in the past when bottling a few at a time and found the carb level to be rather high, if similar 1 drop may work ok for a 16oz bottle. That said if you’re bottling an entire batch you’re probably better off getting the priming sugar anyway. There are several calculators online, inlcuding one on NB’s site I believe, that will help you out as far as how much sugar to add.

fizz drops are nice for small 1/2 or 1 gal batches but they are unpredictable imhp. You have to experiment with them. For larger batches go with powdered corn sugar (priming sugar).

You can use the ‘fizz’ drops or any brand of sugar pills. They will work, but it’s a guessing game as to whether the beer will be over-carbed or under-carbed. You’ll need to experiment with the first batch.

Batch priming, if done correctly, can be a more precise method of priming beer. If done incorrectly you’ll get uneven priming of the bottles, which is one benefit of the drops, is that all bottles are pretty much evenly carbed.

Use this calculator to determine the amount of priming sugar needed for batch priming.

http://www.northernbrewer.com/priming-sugar-calculator/

I have used both and generally prefer batch priming, though it does require more attention to detail.

[quote=“jd14t”]

I have used both and generally prefer batch priming, though it does require more attention to detail.[/quote]

+1, better to learn the right way to do it than to try a no-brainer method.