Newbie quesions

Hi,

I have some experience with beer, but I’ve got some confusion over how to make a good batch of cider. After reading some forums and websites there seems to be some conflicting ideas.

The end result is carbonated cider in bottles without forced carbonation. I’ve done this with beer lots but after reading about cold crashing and bottle bombs I’m getting worried.

At what SG do I bottle at, should I cold crash, and if so is it possible to carbonate after?

Some people say let it sit in the carboy till it runs it course, some say stop it at a point with cold crashing a couple times and removing the yeast(or use chemicals).

I’m sure someone has already wrote an amazing step by step for first time cider brewers I just can’t find one that I trust.

I know a lot depends on personal taste but I need something to get me in the ball park.

Thanks

Jon

From my experience with beer, cold crashing wont get rid of all the yeast so you’ll still have some viable to add priming sugar and bottle condition as long as your not cold crashing for a month. After cold crashing it did take longer to carbonate though so be patient. Takes a while for the yeast to wake back up. Just make sure you don’t freeze it, that will for sure kill the yeast. Good luck.

For sure,

I’m ok with waiting, I’m in no huge rush to drink the stuff…well you know I say that right now

Any ideas on what SG gives a middle of the road taste?