Newbie needs high O.G. yeast starter help

Hello Everyone,

I would like to thank anyone that takes the time to read this tread in advance. I would just like to say that this is my first time using liquid yeast. I have made 6 extract only kits, before this, all with dry yeast. Here is my problem. I am trying to make Northernbrewers “The Number Eight” extract kit, this kit has an O.G. of 1.084 and uses Wyeast’s 1762 Belg Abbey II yeast. I made a starter of 2 cups water to a well rounded 1/2 cup of Pilsner DME, and it has been swirling away on my stir plate since yesterday afternoon . According to all of my reading this O.G. for the starter is near or at 1.040 and is of a volume of 2 cups or .473 of a liter. Here are my questions, will this be enough yeast to finish out this high gravity beer? Will my starters O.G. be high enough that the yeast will not be “shocked” when I introduce it to the wort? And the million dollar question, If this isn’t enough yeast how may I add more? By introducing more water and DME? If so how much? And should I raise the O.G. of the starter?
I just love this hobby and would really appreciate any and all suggestions guys and gals.

You will find the answers to all your questions at these three links.

http://www.yeastcalc.com/indexupdate.html http://www.mrmalty.com/yeast-tools.php

Be ready to control your wort temperature. With the amount of yeast you will be pitching the rapid fermentation will produce a lot of heat. Hold you wort temperature at the low end of the yeasts range.

http://www.wyeastlab.com/hb_yeaststrain ... cfm?ID=130

In my opinion, Belgians and hefeweizens should always be underpitched on purpose. The fruity and spicy flavors produced in these styles require the yeast to be stressed out a little bit. Underpitching a little bit helps stress them out… in a GOOD way.