Newbie Here with a question?

Hey good people! I am new to Home Brewing. I did try it about 10 years and it sucked but I was more into partying and no paitence. By the way my name is Noodle and now I am 42 years old and ready to give this another try.

I got my kit last Saturday and instead of coming home and jumping right in I decided to wait a week. Read, read and more reading on the process and get use to the equipment. Tomorrow morining is the day. I am starting with a Brown Ale kit and will see how it turns out (I have high intentions but low expectations).

Just a little more of your time. My question is coming.

I want to brew an American Lager. I want my friends to try it and see their feedback bad or good plus I like it as well. I do have a wider range of beer taste than my Miller Lite, Bud Light, Coors Light only friends.

Any suggestions of fermenting your lager beer and mainating temp without a fridge? Limited on space and might have to stick with the Ale’s.

Thanks ya’ll from the Gulf Coast of Alabama! Roll Tide!

I hear you on limited space.

I tried a lager without a fridge this year, but I have a cold basement in WI. On the gulf coast, you could try a swamp cooler, but you’d likely have to change the ice several times a day. Then again the footprint of a swamp cooler, wouldn’t be much less that a little dedicated fridge.

I am sure someone will chime in who brews in the South.

Also, you can consider cream ales, kolsches, Cali Commons and wheat beers if you like the lighter/crisper styles but can’t quite lager.

This is a tough question because as the previous poster noted it can be done with ice bottles and a swamp cooler but it is a huge PITA!!! Trust me, running downstairs three times a day with frozen water bottles to try (and key word is try here) to maintain temperature is annoying at best. That said, it did work for me.