New to brewing with an all grain kit

I just bought the 115th dream hopbursted ipa all grain kit & this is my first time brewing an all grain kit. I received a 16.5lb bag of grain. Plus all the hops

Can someone please explain to me the Mash Schedule - Single Infusion. Sacch’ Rest - 152 F for 60 minutes, Mash Out - 170 F for 10 minutes?

What does that mean?

How much do add?

How much beer does it all make?

Is there instructions on these steps with how much water to add?

Sorry for all the questions, but I just want to be sure I am making this beer correctly and I am excited to try this great beer.

Thanks.

Basically, you will be heating up your mash water of approximately4-5 gallons to around 167 degrees or so (not sure of the exact amounts, maybe someone can provide the details). You will add the mash water to your grain in the mash tun. Your goal is to have the temp. settle in at about 152 degrees and then let it sit at that temp. for 60 minutes.

After 60 min. you will sparge the mash by running your sparge water through the grain in your mash tun. If you heat your sparge water to about 180 or so, it will elevate your mash to high 160’s/170 as you sparge - this would be the “mash out.” I would not get to worked up about hitting that exactly. Better off to be under 170 than get too much over it.

You will collect the wort in your boil kettle as you sparge (probably about 6.5-7 gallons or so) and that will then be the wort you will boil (at this point - it is basically like extract brewing.)

This is to finish with about 5 gallons of beer when you are done.

To answer your questions we need a little more information:

What do you plan to mash the grains in?

And how big is it?

How big of a kettle do you have to boil in?

Do you plan to batch sparge or fly sparge?

I can help you a little though.

[quote=“dab06”]Can someone please explain to me the Mash Schedule - Single Infusion. Sacch’ Rest - 152 F for 60 minutes, Mash Out - 170 F for 10 minutes?