New to brewing looking for some advice

I am very new to brewing. I just tried my first beer. it was bsg beginners kit wheat beer. I am very unhappy with the results. I followed the directions they were easy to follow. Primed it and sanitized it. Has a good amount of carbonation. It tastes like nothing but hops. I was told when I bought it, it would be one of the lower hop brews. i do like hops but not a ton. The kind of beer I’m going for would be a Belgian Wheat. I love blue moon, boulivard wheat, Dinky wheat ect… That isn’t even close tot he flavor or color I got. I’m not going to make that kit again. I started my second kit before trying the first my second kit is a brewers best Belgian wheat. I steeped the grains which gave it a much better smell I followed the directions added all the ingrediants and followed the directions. My question is are all the kits that hoppy? Are most home brew recipes that hoppy? Would it hurt the alcohol content of fermentation if just added half the hops? Any other advice would be welcome here. Keep in mind I don’t have the supplies to make my own mash right now. I want to get a few good solid brews under my belt before I invest in that.

One of the best things about making your own beer is you can adjust it any way you like. You just have to understand how and what it will do. Your question is about IBUs or the bitterness of the beer. I use calculators like this one.

http://www.brewersfriend.com/ibu-calculator/

Once you have your IBUs you have a good starting point and make better adjustments in the future.
You can add hops at any time. If you add the same amount of hops at half of the boil you get less bitterness and a different flavor then hopping at the start of the boil.

But a simple answer to your question is sure you can use any amount of hops and it should not affect your fermentation or alcohol content.